Rome in a quarter day

I leave Warsaw in the morning to be in Rome for the afternoon. I only have a 20 hour layover so I have to make the most of it! Out the airport, into the train station and 36 Euros later… Wait what 36 Euros to get to Rome from the airport? Ludicrous, but oh well. 30 minutes later I am in Roma, and I have examined the tourist map carefully to make the best use of my short adventure in this old Europe megalith of a capital.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After this short tour I spend an hour wandering the streets to find food. I settle down in Campo De Fiori, a nice little square filled with mimes, a saxophoner, and all you can eat pasta!!! The waitresses and waiters are very friendly as I sit down and write in between dishes of pasta of all different kinds. The hostess notices, tells me that she is a writer, and that I should describe Rome as this according to her:

Rome is where people come to live their lives. Whatever your mood may be, it will always change for the better!

Her synopsis concluded with:

“In Roma le persone prendano sempre le 30 minute per il caffè. In questa città che sempre qual cosa di nuovo da scoprire.”

Which in Italian means: “In Rome people always take the 30 minutes for their coffee (implying visiting with friends, over coffee). In this city there is always something new to discover.”

I think the second part is absolutely true because there are so many old buildings, little bars, cool shops, and what not that it would be very unlikely that you get a case of the bores.

3 responses »

  1. I was going to remark on the fellow that ordered his espresso, got it, drank it, paid for it and left before I could even order… but it was near Civitanova Marche, not in Rome.

  2. Pingback: Tourism in a flash!!! « 13aprojekt

  3. Pingback: St Peter’s Basilica « 13aprojekt

Leave a comment