Mestre

After walking all day in Venice, or one (two, or three) of the islands, the grandparents got tired and decided that it was time to go back to the hotel. I decided to go for walks around the little town of Mestre. During these walks I took a few pictures, but I also talked to a few people from there. This stage building/soon to be pub owner named Alex who told me a lot about what to see and do in Venice, so I transmitted that all over to my grandparents when we were visiting.

The second night I sat down at a bar, and got to talking with the people at the table beside me. A young bunch of people comprised of 4 friends that all work or used to work in the cruise ship industry and shared with me a bunch of their funny stories. Such as:

The one about a man in his electric wheel chair who was on the top deck of a ship when it was windy enough to make the ship rock. His brakes stopped working or something of the sorts and he starts yelling “Get out of my way!”. Right before taking a person down and crashing into wall. Needless to say he went to the infirmary.

Or this one:

A woman was on her balcony, holding a glass of brandy and a cigarette who got drunk, slipped, and, worthy of at least an honourable mention in the Darwin Awards (for those of you who don’t know: an award given to people who die in the stupidest ways possible), hit her head and died.

That ones not so funny, but a story nonetheless.

Check out their page all about Venice!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Venezzia on water « 13aprojekt

  2. Pingback: Venezzia on land « 13aprojekt

Leave a comment